Purple Negatives


For anyone interested in film negatives on acetate ink jet printing it turns out I’ve discovered that black and white isn’t the only way to go. Instead of having negatives printed on a gray scale printing as a purple hues can add increased value to Van Dyke prints.

Last night I printed two negatives one grayscale and one purple and the difference was apparent even in the dark room. Depending on what type of printer and program your using the effect can vary maybe. At my college I use a Cannon Image Setter and do not change the image to gray scale under the special features menu.

I have not tested this effect on typical photo paper or a cyanotype process but I will update any finds with purple negatives.

Leave a Reply

