Update on Latham Circle Mall Photos


After posting a message about it I am ready show raw negative scans of some of favorite shots of the mall. I’ll have to look through my negatives because I may be missing some frames from my non-stop scanning last month. Unfortunately I’ll have to do a lot of retouching in photoshop because I messed up on cleaning them so there are lots of water and dust marks.

Latham003

5 Responses to “Update on Latham Circle Mall Photos”

  1. courtneywilcox Says:

    Mike, you have a wonderful sense of light in these. Although you must have been scanning for weeks!. Also Brian gave me the name of a product from freestyle that gets rid of watermarks FOREVER. Once I consult my handy dandy sketchbook and figure out what it was called…I’ll let you know , because I am all for kicking them to the curb.

  2. michaelchernoff Says:

    Thanks Courtney usually its me who has no watermarks versus everyone else. Do you put this stuff on after film developement or after the film has dried?

  3. muahahahaa Says:

    Great pictures. Amazing atmosphere about them. If you thought the mall was dead when you took these, you haven’t seen anything… Old Country Buffet and a most of the smaller shops are gone, even the kiddie rides are gone, the southeastern mall entrance is closed permanently, and JCPenny closed their mall entrance due to mold smell coming from the Food Court. Small stretch of Mall from the Burlington to the entrance right in front of it (near the hair salon) is the only part worth saving at this point. But it seems the owner will never save nor close it. It’s undead.

    • I have heard it’s decayed even more and I do plan to revisit the mall with my camera. I remember one of the creepiest parts of the mall was an old aikido dojo with the picture of the master placed close to the front gate and the rest of the space barren and dark.

      On another note I heard a strange note through a friend who spoke to another friend that they spoke to mall owner…there is an interesting future ahead for Latham Circle.

      But I will do another post about the place after my visit I’m going as it draws closer to xmas.

  4. I have heard it’s decayed even more and I do plan to revisit the mall with my camera. I remember one of the creepiest parts of the mall was an old aikido dojo with the picture of the master placed close to the front gate and the rest of the space barren and dark.

    On another note I heard a strange note through a friend who spoke to another friend that they spoke to mall owner…there is an interesting future ahead for Latham Circle.

    But I will do another post about the place after my visit I’m going as it draws closer to xmas.

Leave a Reply

