The disgracefulness of Memory


I was google searching random names of people I know and I decided to enter my deceased grandfather Merton Chernoff. To my disappointment I didn’t find much information on him. Mostly what came up was the real estate listing of his home. But what I found horrified me…my grandfather’s name was listed on website compilation of jews who are anti-Israeli simply called a SHIT list (see masada2000). Not only that it is linked to conservative anti-palestinian website that is disturbingly similar to white racist sites.

For the record my grandfather was a high school history teacher who was a peace protester and member of the communist of the party. I can only speculate that his name was gathered from sleuthing by this degenerative assholes who like desecrate the names of the dead. My grandfather was not pro-Israel, but he was not for imperialism in general. I just want these bitter people to know that as an activist and educator my grandfather was appreciated. I remember his students that I’ve met as reflecting on him as a teacher that guided their principles and taught them lessons they carried on for their whole lives.

And for anyone that thinks he’s some un-American fink he served in both WWII and the Korean war. But more disappointing than this is the little information there is about Merton Chernoff. Maybe someday I can expand and connect with the people who actually knew my grandfather.

9 Responses to “The disgracefulness of Memory”

  1. Your blog looks good. Keep it up.

  2. michaelchernoff Says:

    My mothers side is. Yeah I actually want to watch waltz with bashir Tiff. Lets get on that.

  3. Will do! Can you delete/edit my other message– I’m pretty sure that festival knowledge is confidential. Keep it on the down low.

  4. ArthurKurtz Says:

    Your grandfather was my teacher at Canarsie High School, and i admired him a great deal. He was a unique individual, and I’d love to share my memories with you if you like. Just let me know.

Leave a Reply

