Inspiring Suits


So I have thought about different possibilities for projects I could do with my neon class. One idea has made body accessories with neon attachments so that lights and clothing would be joined. But I’m thinking this may be too advanced to do this year and may be done later on…?

Making suits however brings me back to Nick Cave, a fabric artist and performer. When his suits came to Alfred University they all reminded me of deities and demigods. Later I saw more of his work in Chelsea NY and there were even more spectacular suits on display. I wouldn’t focus so much on bead work and sewing that Cave does, instead the jutting out of materials  from the suit. Cave’s suits take over the space sorounding them with metal and cloth. Not sure where these ideas will go but I thought I’d document so I wouldn;t forget. If changes come I will update.

Leave a Reply

