Who wins my Heart?


America…Oh America I went another a place than thee…and it was close. Well I counted up the amount of complaints and positives between Spain and the USA. In the end America won out with a ratio  of 10:8 in the things I enjoyed about living in Barcelona. I wouldn’t take it to heart that it Spain is more terrible or better than American living. I identified with the aesthetically entertainment and design of Spain. Even coming in to JFK airport I was disgusted by how old and unappealing the interior design of the airport was in comparison to the large glass walls and courtyards of Barcelona’s airport. All the spanish buildings, artists, images, and events were more pertinent to me than a lot of contemporary American imagery.

Yet living in America is more flexible, affordable, and overall the people are just easier to interact with. Spain was great visiting destination but I never considered ever-moving there permanently or staying for a year let alone the 2 months I was there. Caught up in all this turmoil it was hard for me to differentiate how I felt about the trip. I don’t regret going but it’s maddening now because I owe my mother money for the trip too and I don’t truly need the credits that I obtained from classes. But I received good memories and a new perspective on the creator I want to become someday after seeing the extensive Dali museum.

Next time I go to the continent I want a piece of France to take with me. Then Italy or Greece after that…but everyone seems to spit on the idea of going to Italy these days. And I am still oblivious to gypsies, at least I left with my wallet untampered with and AmEX card that no one accepts.

Leave a Reply

