(Look Below For the Subject)


Maybe I am envious or jealous or mad or disappointed or a wimp…but vimeo is getting me a little agitated. Not as much as youtube, well maybe more. The point is that since I have become more involved in video making I want my videos viewed and the videos I make don’t involve gross humiliation or meme possibilities. It’s fine being relatively unknown at this point since I’m still young. But in Vimeo I think the chalice of great videos is held in unfair quality simply because they look good.

What I love about youtube is the naivety and low-cost adventure that people have undertaken and either make single hits or increasingly improved video genres on their channels. Basically everything someone wanted on t.v. that would never be produced based on market expectations or commercial potential. Yet in Vimeo all the great videos are hailed by makers using cutting edge technology. Even famous video directors are involved. I’m simple I use the analog technology available at my college and use some digital tech too. Based on what programs and equipment are available to me I can’t expect to me media gold particularly. Yet I never see a non HD video or simple crafting nominated on Vimeo’s staff picks. Most of the time the videos are interesting but sometimes they pick some real bad stuff. Maybe technically its ideal but its substance falls short. And then I see Vimeo awards…and I think how the hell can I compete with guys who have jobs in studios and use the equipment for free? What upstart can overcome these media titans that Vimeo seems to be so proud of?

Well this site is just the video elite center of the universe. I don’t think Vimeo encourages new youth media but supports contemporary video. It has no real hand in influencing creators like youtube does…Vimeo is a stage nothing more. It has better streaming and video quality yet its views pale against youtube and Vimeo even puts pointless videos of sporting events that are probably more suited for youtube. I hate how there is no thumbs down on videos and all the comments are positives, there isn’t even a troll response on any video. It’s all these assholes saying nice things to each to boost their hollow videos to new heights. I’m sick of seeing the same overused animation and video editing techniques. Fred Viola a musician in the Hudson Valley region and NYC has made great simple videos with better subject matter than many videos I’ve seen on staff shit picks. Little notice is given to his videos for as much as a dumb pirate ship made in animation pro.

This site is just demoralising. I’m not saying I’m going to remove my account or videos…free broadcasting is free…but I’m not paying a membership fee. Maybe when I have the money to someone in the staff room will notice my videos more. I want to see a video buffer on this site instead of just my videos. I think they should just rename the site HD…then again who likes HD and Blu-Ray? Probably as popular as this site with amounts of viewers.

3 Responses to “(Look Below For the Subject)”

  1. your blog’s design is simple and clean.

  2. excellent information.

Leave a Reply

