Andrew Stergiou



So for the first time I am blogging about another blogger. His name is Andrew Stergiou and from what I have seen about his online personality and history I am not sure how much effort should go into figuring him out or ignoring him. I found him on a youtube comments board for a John Cage Interview video. Also that’s his face above, it’s very dirty.

I didn’t try finding where his comments started or what he was originally arguing about with other music fans but he sure was shit talking everyone. His comments are still up on the board to be viewed but for some reason I can’t look at his channel account anymore. I viewed and he didn’t have whole lot of content on it just text info and 2 video links. A lot of the info centered around the world sucking and the goodness of art in light of this…which I have been thinking a lot about lately too so that’s what hooked me into him. But then his description of himself goes along the lines of how he is one of the greatest guitarists in the world, he gardens, paints, and has sex and more sex. There is definitely an ego behind this guy. Here is a normal bio I find on his FUCK YOU blog.

First Online Publisher of this First Online Electronic Literary Art Journal 1988-1996, and reconstituted in founding: Zito! Online Journal of creative flux, dialectical, disembodied, abstract and poetic expression. Without enough time in the day, nor enough days in the week, nor weeks in the year, nor time in one life: writer, artist, painter, DIYer, cook, musician, analyst, philosopher, thinker, reader, activist, performer, film extra actor, producer, a very diverse and complicated person, prolific creator, perennial iconoclastic activist, his political motto aptly describes him as “left of the right, right of the left, and not in the center”.

http://zito.biz/fuckyou/archives/author/andrew-stergiou

From what I can tell about Zito it’s not so much a journal as a website that Andrew made probably before template blog sites existed. What’s really strange is that this online electronic art journal is from 1988? So I guess Andrew was at least one of the first public persons to manifest themselves on the internet. But going back to youtube I can’t enter his channel for some reason. I’m either blocked or he deactivated the site but I wrote some encouragement for him but mostly that he seemed over zealous. Before I go on here are some images from his art gallery and I also can’t tell if this guy is American or an immigrant to the states.

Say whatever you want about the images, except for the poor clarity of the portrait which I can’t tell is intentional or bad image scanning. I think Andrew made these digital pictures just so he could be one of the first to do so but other than that there doesn’t seem to be much of a legacy or goal intended for these items. He was becoming the Nam Jun Paik of websites at the time it seems.

Overall this guy may have some talent but I think he over exaggerates his accomplishments and skills. More importantly he appears to be a very turbulent person who wants artistic recognition and prowess and is using the internet to try to achieve that with his blogs and twitters. As far as I can tell he was living in Pennsylvania and now resides in Brooklyn, NY. But for whatever redeeming qualities the man has I can’t appreciate his dramatism on the internet. He claims he’s gonna take shit all over everyone and antagonizes readers and responders with his own brand crude debate. On the one hand this guy could never have progressed mentally past his senior year of high school or it’s a complete farce. Maybe he just acts like this on the internet to get attention with extreme behavior. He’s a great archetype for the internet artisit whether he is talented or not because he profuses views and work that no one really cares about but it exists anyway and in the end I found it. Well at least he’s not spending endless amounts of time on the internet because he hasn’t had too much activity on his twitter. If anyone knows this guys feel free to tell some new stories…or Andrew can speak for himself on this post. Is this clarity intentional or not?

2 Responses to “Andrew Stergiou”

  1. Micheal old boy, in your lax attitude and commitment to checking out exactly what you comment on before you open your mouth (I hope you don’t let the flies in) you left out a few things in raising questions on what is my state of mind and humor at any given time.

    Frankly in regard to ego if you are unsure of what you are supposed to do you should first read the, instructions or ask a parental guardian.

    As a musician one is supposed to have some sort of purpose, or ego, you say I have a grandiose so fine, as one who sharpened well his teeth busking in Europe to make a living a long time ago what you say doesn’t bother me because if someone completely ignorant of playing music said Jimi Hendrix, Segovia, or Johnny Lennon was the world’s greatest guitar player you would chalk it up to them being entitled to say that as a matter of opinion and you have no right then to challenge it in all opinions relatively being equal.

    So now after time has passed In that my guitar playing is still quite well I can say what I please weither I boast jest conject postulate or play the fool.

    The facts are I am moody and often I work long days often sitting like a Buddha in a loincloth on my bed staring at a computer screen writing, or playing musical instruments, or watching a video terminal and playing music in what I do not feel limited.

    In that I have forgotten more than most people learned I had to check your reference to Nam June Paik who is interesting and which I have a mutual feeling about Mr. John Cage as I originally bought with my own money an electronic John Cage recording when I was approx 12 in Greenwich Village Manhattan so my tastes developed rather broadly from then to include much and many.

    As for your selection of example of photos and my work, there are better examples though as I am backed up each year more and more that perhaps only gets worse.

    • Dear Andrew,

      I never got a direct response from you on this post until now. There were a lot of things I didn’t know about you so I sent out a line and you’ve now bitten and I reeled you into this thread. There is no parental consent since I’m 23 and wrote that this when I was 21 but on the internet there is no consent for open sources.

      Your work is probably more interesting now than it was before because I see a lot of people using tablets for digital drawings and paintings and you did these images before the trend came along with MS paint and Photoshop.

      You have a writing style and projection on the internet that a lot people have lacked to develop due to simplifications made from Facebook but you put a lot out without saying much and that is what I gather my opinions from. A person must control his image if the are to be satisfied with it. I could only draw as much info as I could find evidence and as for the pictures they were the most interesting to me whether they have longevity or not.

Leave a Reply

